Stitch Fix Review–September 2017–Fix #49

Stich Fix box #49 arrived this week!  My last review was in June and you can read it here if you missed it.  I kept all five things and have worn them constantly this summer.  Even though I wanted a box for July and August, I refrained since I have more than enough summer things.

My eyes lit up when I came home the other day and found my Stitch Fix box waiting for me.  My stylist knows me so well and sent five great things for September.

These two are my favorites!

Stitch Fix September 2017 - Pink Clover Delino Knit Top and Kut from the Kloth Kate Boyfriend Jean - virginiasweetpea.com

I am a Stitch Fix affiliate and if you make a purchase, I earn a small commission.  My love for Stitch Fix is genuine and all opinions are truthful and my own.

Before I go on to talk more about Stitch Fix, I want to take a moment to talk about how things aren’t always as they appear.  When I was preparing the photos for this post, it occurred to me that I look healthy and carefree when in reality I am far from that.  What you can’t see in these smiling pictures is that just walking down the street to take them wasn’t easy for me.  A problem with my back / pelvis / SI Joint has robbed me of my mobility.  I’ve gone from running, biking, playing tennis, and gardening to being thankful that I could shuffle down the street to take these pictures.  I am being treated and have not lost hope that I will be back to my old ways, but for now I am very limited in what I can do.  And I also am fighting lung cancer.  So remember when you are scrolling through your favorite blogs or social media accounts that pictures don’t show a person’s true story.  Everyone has struggles.

What is Stitch Fix?

Stitch Fix is a personal styling service.  When you sign up for Stitch Fix, you fill out a detailed style profile that helps your stylist know your likes and dislikes.  Since I’ve received 47 Stitch Fix shipments, my stylist knows my likes and dislikes very well and I almost always like every item in my Fix, a good problem to have!

When a Fix arrives, you have three days to try the clothes on and to decide what to keep and what to send back.  Stitch Fix includes a postage paid envelope making returns super easy.

I choose to receive a monthly box but that is my choice.  When you sign up for Stitch Fix, you can choose how often a box is delivered.

I do not like shopping and love receiving clothing from Stitch Fix.  I get clothes that I like without having to do any work other than pinning things that I like to my fashion board on Pinterest.  My stylist, Brittany H., checks my Pinterest board for inspiration and also reads my note to her each month to see if I have any special requests.

You can find links to all of my Fixes here and also be sure to check out my Stitch Fix Review Board on Pinterest where I pin my favorite looks.

September 2017 Stitch Fix Review

The first picture that I shared are my favorite two items in this box.

Pink Clover Delino Knit Top and Kut from the Kloth Kate Boyfriend Jean

Do you ever put on an outfit and think to yourself, “I never want to take this off.”?  That’s how I feel about this top and jeans.  The Pink Clover top is probably the softest top I’ve ever tried on.  It is so comfortable and is going to be perfect to wear this fall when it gets a bit cooler.

Stitch Fix September 2017 - Pink Clover Delino Knit Top and Kut from the Kloth Kate Boyfriend Jean - virginiasweetpea.com

When Stitch Fix sends an email to let you know that you fix is on the way, you can use the Stitch Fix app to see what is being delivered.  At first I was disappointed to receive these Kut from the Kloth Kate Boyfriend Jeans because I already have one pair of them.  The pair I already have is distressed and a darker wash than these.  I actually like this pair better because they are more fitted and I am not that crazy about having holes in my pants.

This outfit is sure to be worn a lot this fall!

Stitch Fix September 2017 - Pink Clover Delino Knit Top and Kut from the Kloth Kate Boyfriend Jean - virginiasweetpea.com

It was getting dark as we took these pictures.

I’m thinking about looking for a pair of dusty rose pants to wear with this top.  I think it will also look great with black jeans and I have the perfect pair from a previous fix.

Stitch Fix September 2017 - Pink Clover Delino Knit Top and Kut from the Kloth Kate Boyfriend Jean - virginiasweetpea.com

 

Verdict:  Kept Both

 

Kaileigh Katinka Knit Dress

This dress is not only cute, but so very comfortable.  It actually feels like a comfortable night gown.  I love the red stripes and especially love the bell sleeves.

Stitch Fix Review - September 2017 - Kaileigh Katina Knit Dress - virginiasweetpea.com

 

Here you can better see the cute sleeves.  I can start wearing this dress now with flats and later on when it gets cold, add tights and boots.

Stitch Fix Review - September 2017 - Kaileigh Katina Knit Dress - virginiasweetpea.com

Stitch Fix Review - September 2017 - Kaileigh Katina Knit Dress - virginiasweetpea.com

 

Sherman definitely approves of this dress.

Stitch Fix Review - September 2017 - Kaileigh Katina Knit Dress - virginiasweetpea.com

Verdict:  Keep

Honey Punch Paron Bell Sleeve Wrap Top

I paired this Honey Punch Paron Bell Sleeve Wrap Top with Margaret M Emer Houndstooth Pants from my October 2015 fix.

Stitch Fix Review - September-2017 - Honey Punch Paron Bell Sleeve Wrap Top - virginiasweetpea.com

This top has a beautiful pattern, bell sleeves, and a flattering wrap cut.

Stitch Fix Review - September-2017 - Honey Punch Paron Bell Sleeve Wrap Top - virginiasweetpea.com

 

Sherman also likes this outfit.  And he loves his Mama.

Stitch Fix Review - September-2017 - Honey Punch Paron Bell Sleeve Wrap Top - virginiasweetpea.com

 

 

Verdict:  Returned

This top was a wrinkled mess when it arrived and I had to iron the devil out of it for these pictures.  I did not want to fight that battle every time I laundered this shirt.  It also was a tad bit tight in the shoulders.

 

Brixon Ivy Bettie Laser Cut Dress

I love the color of this dress and the super cute laser cut detail on the bottom.  It’s comfortable and if I were still teaching, keeping this would be a no brainer.

Stitch-Fix-Review- September-2017-Brixon Ivy Bettie Laser Cut Dress - virginiasweetpea.com

 

We have a Breast Cancer benefit dinner and comedy show to go to in early September, so I requested a dress to possibly wear to it.  This dress would definitely work, but I really don’t need it as my closet is full of other beautiful Stitch Fix dresses.  I am pretty sure that I’m going to wear the Adelyn Rae Taliya dress that I received in my June 2016 Fix to the benefit dinner.

Stitch-Fix-Review- September-2017-Brixon Ivy Bettie Laser Cut Dress - virginiasweetpea.com

 

I really do like this dress and may regret my decision not to keep it.

Stitch-Fix-Review- September-2017-Brixon Ivy Bettie Laser Cut Dress - virginiasweetpea.com

 

Isn’t that laser cut design a great touch?  Stitch-Fix-Review- September-2017-Brixon Ivy Bettie Laser Cut Dress - virginiasweetpea.com

Verdict:  Returned

In Summary

Stitch Fix is fun but certainly not inexpensive.  The three pieces that I purchased are ones that I’m sure to wear time and again this fall and winter.  I didn’t have to go out shopping for them, so even though the cost is more than I’d spend in a store, I saved myself the time spent shopping and the pain of doing so.  Plus, it’s fun to receive a Stitch Fix box!

Gift Cards

A Stitch Fix gift card is a gift that any fashion loving girl or guy would like.  If you have a friend or family member with a special occasion coming up, consider a gift card as a gift.  I love it when I receive one!

Stitch Fix Maternity

Stitch Fix now offers their services to expecting moms.   If you are expecting or if you know someone who is, they may appreciate a Stitch Fix box filled with cute maternity things.

Stitch Fix for Plus Sizes

If you are plus sized, Stitch Fix has you covered!

Stitch Fix for Men

My husband is NOT into fashion AT ALL and has enjoyed the three Stitch Fix boxes that he has received.  In fact, he wears the items that I purchased from those boxes to work weekly.  Why not treat your husband to his own Stitch Fix box?

If you’ve been thinking about trying Stitch Fix, I encourage you to do so.  I have so much fun anticipating the arrival of my Fix and then trying on the clothing when it arrives.

Comments

  1. grammy goodwill says:

    When I saw your first picture, I was so pleased as my first thought was, “Paula looks great. I’m glad she’s doing well.” Then I read on. I’m sorry. I know you miss being active, esp playing tennis. I bet you even miss teaching!
    I like seeing your choices from Stitch Fix. I could never do this because I’m hard to fit, but it seems like a great idea for you.

  2. I’m sorry to read about your new health problems on top of first ones. I hope the back problem gets fixed soon or at least that it improves enough that you can walk pain free.
    Magali@TheLittleWhiteHouse recently posted…Tabula RasaMy Profile

    • Thank you! I am walking much easier this week. I have an appointment with a specialist today and I hope and pray that they can help me.

  3. I have always enjoyed reading your Stitch Fix posts. I love that Sherman gets to be a part of the process 🙂 I was shocked to read about what you are going through. You are so right… you never know what is truly going on behind the smiles and pretty pictures. I am praying for your health to be restored. Blessing on you and your family!!

  4. You are so right, Paula…you just never know what someone is going through on the inside. I remember for a short time while I was going through my divorce with my first husband, being so sad when I would see women just wearing wedding bands in the grocery line at the grocery store. I found it hard to smile at the girl at the checkout. Going through that experience, I never judge when someone isn’t kind to me. You just never know what people are going through. You do look amazing, but I will continue to keep you in my prayers!! BTW is there an affiliate link to the top in the first outfit? I’d love to have that. XO

    • Thank you so much for your sweet words. I can walk better this week and am grateful for that.

      I don’t have a link for that particular outfit but if you receive a Stitch Fix box, you could request it when you place your order. It won’t be long before I’m wearing it!

  5. I have been meaning to try Stitch Fix or Le Tote Paula and more and more bloggers are convincing me to do so. Love these pieces. The floral sleeve sweatshirt is awesome and I love both dresses – I think they would transition great into Fall. But my favorite is that outfit with the burgundy plaid pants.

    Welcome by my blog and join my brand-new Thursday Moda linkup this week. Have a great Labor Day!!

    http://eleganceandmommyhood.blogspot.com/2017/08/thursday-moda-78-beach-vacation-floral.html

  6. Thank you for sharing this! I hope you are feeling well today. <3

  7. Hi – I was led here by Pinterest and I’m sorry to read of your pain. I too had serious SI joint issues and suffered for years. I had success with prolotherapy injections (a sugar solution to irritate and tighten the ligaments) and am now able to exercise again – in fact I’m in better shape now than I have been in years. There is hope! good luck to you!

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to comment! SI Joint problems are just terrible. I am so glad that prolotherapy gave you relief and that you are able to exercise. I had similar SI Joint problems 5 years ago and like you, had prolotherapy. My back problems are better now but I’m still not back to doing my normal exercise. My case is complicated as I’m being treated for cancer and some of my problems could be related to my treatment. Thanks again for reaching out to me!

      Paula

  8. You seem to have a wonderful blog but I’m not sure you are aware that a popup ad comes up on the left half of your screen and block 1/3 of your page. (I’m hoping the spelling on the left side of this e-mail is correct as I can’t see what I am typing! I thought you might like to know and wonder if anyone else has this trouble with your blog!

    • Thank you for letting me know. I am switching ad companies for this reason. The switch won’t happen until mid-October. I know that kind of thing is annoying to a reader and I am sorry.

    • I will reach out to my ad company right away to get this resolved. Thanks for letting me know.

Speak Your Mind

*

CommentLuv badge