April 2016 Stitch Fix Review (Fix #34)

After not keeping anything from my March Stitch Fix box, I was more than ready to get my fix for April.  This fix was a great one and I kept it all.

April 2016 Stitch Fix Review by virginiasweetpea.com

 

I am a Stitch Fix affiliate and if you make a purchase, I earn a small commission. My love for Stitch Fix is genuine and all opinions are truthful and my own.

If you are new to Stitch Fix, after filling out a detailed style profile, a stylist personally selects five items for you to try.  Stitch Fix includes clothes, shoes, handbags, and jewelry but I request to only receive clothing.  I receive a box monthly, but that’s totally optional, and you can decide how often a box is sent.  A $20 styling fee is charged to your credit card before your shipment is sent.  After you receive your box, you have three days to try on your items.  If you keep all five items, you get a 25% off discount.  The styling fee is deducted from any item that you purchase, so I almost always buy at least one thing.

Stitch Fix encourages pinning what you like to Pinterest so that your stylist can get ideas for clothing that you particularly like.  This month two of the items that I received were pinned to my style board.

Enough talk, let’s look at the clothes!

 

 

41Hawthorn Piper Asymmetrical Hem Skirt

I saw this Piper Asymmetrical Hem Skirt by 41Hawthorn on a blogger’s March Stitch Fix post and pinned it to my style board because I liked it so much.  I’ve always loved navy and I like this skirt’s nautical style.  I plan to purchase a few new t-shirt type tops to wear with it but for showing it to you, chose a Banana Republic top already in my closet.  My stylist suggested pairing it with the Alice Blue Peplum Blouse or the 41 Hawthorn Quay Henley Blouse but they both hide the buttons and that’s one of my favorite features of this skirt.

April 2016 Stitch Fix - 41Hawthorne Piper Asymmetrical Hem Skirt

 

This skirt has a slight bit of stretch making it super comfortable.

April 2016 Stitch Fix - 41Hawthorne Piper Asymmetrical Hem Skirt3

 

I’ve always loved navy because there are so many colors that can be paired with it.  Once I’ve bought my spring tees in multiple colors, I’ll be set to wear this skirt all spring and summer. April 2016 Stitch Fix - 41Hawthorne Piper Asymmetrical Hem Skirt4

 

41Hawthorn Quay Henley Blouse

If you have the Stitch Fix app, you can peek at your fix to see what you are getting before it arrives.  For the first time ever, and this is fix # 34, I peeked.  When I saw the Quay Henley Blouse was coming, I  did not think that I would like like it, but I was wrong!  That’s the beauty of Stitch Fix, you receive items that you would not think to try on in a store, or that you might see online and think, “no way”, but when you try the item on when it it sent to you, you like it.  Case in point with this blouse.

April 2016 Stitch Fix - 41Hawthorne Quay Henley Blouse

 

For a casual look, I paired the blouse with the Kut from the Kloth Kate Distressed Boyfriend Jeans from my February Fix.April 2016 Stitch Fix - 41Hawthorne Quay Henley Blouse2

 

This blouse will be perfect for work with a skirt or nice pair of pants.April 2016 Stitch Fix - 41Hawthorne Quay Henley Blouse3

 

Alice Blue Gower Peplum Blouse

I’m old enough now that I’m starting to see fashion trends repeat.  I wore peplum tops and especially dresses in the early 90’s.  When I saw that this Gower Peplum Blouse was coming, I really wondered if I wanted to wear this trend again 25+ years later.  My answer is yes!  I love this top and will dress it up or down all spring and summer.

April 2016 Stitch Fix - Dear John Finnegan Roll Cuff Chino Short

 

Dear John Finnegan Roll Cuff Chino Short

I read many positive reviews on the Finnegan Roll Cuff Chino Short from Dear John and pinned this pink and white striped pair to my style board.  I love these shorts and am so glad that my stylist sent them to me.

April 2016 Stitch Fix - Alice Blue Gower Peplum Blouse

 

Mak Coffman Button-Up Cardigan

I requested a black cardigan to wear over dresses this spring.  The Coffman Button-Up Cardigan that Brittany picked out for me is perfect.  I’ve paired it here with a Yumi dress that is from Stitch Fix.  Its print is owls sitting on a branch and every single time that I wear it to school the kids tell me how much they like it.

April 2016 Stitch Fix - Mak Coffman Button-Up Cardigan2

 

Just for fun, here it is again with my latest junkin’ haul.

April 2016 Stitch Fix - Mak Coffman Button-Up Cardigan3

The bench and black table have already been put to use at the lake.  I passed along the child’s chair in the front to a friend’s nephew.  The rest will either go to my shop or get a makeover as a blog project.

 

If you’ve been thinking about trying Stitch Fix, do it!  It is so much fun to anticipate what is coming and then to try it on in the privacy of your own home.  Being able to send back what you don’t want for free is another great Stitch Fix perk.

 

If you’re looking for spring Stitch Fix inspiration, check out some of my previous fixes.  I love sharing my Stitch Boxes with my readers.  Feel free to pin your favorite pieces to your style board on Pinterest so that your stylist can see the styles that you like.

Click on the pictures below to see spring styles from 2015 and 2016.  Clicking on each picture will take you to the post where I first shared that Stitch Fix item.

Stitch Fix Review for March 2016 - Donna Morgan Jade Jersey Vneck Dress3 stitch-fix-marie-abstract-chevron-elastic-waist-dress Stitch-Fix-Rocco-Faux-Wrap-tank-dress-sherman-skulina-virginiasweetpea IMG_7353

 

 

April 2016 Stitch Fix Review

7 Comments

  1. I completely agree with you that Stitch Fix will surprise you! I don’t have the app because I have an Android phone, but I don’t think I’d download it anyway because I’d be too tempted to peek! I had a Fix where I judged the pieces as I pulled them out of the box, thinking I would never wear them. I ended up keeping everything from that box, once I was able to see the pieces on me. I love the Quay Henley blouse on you, especially with the distressed jeans! I look forward to reading about your future Fixes!

    1. Thanks, Sarah! I’m wearing the Quay Henley at work today and I’ve gotten several compliments on it. I can’t believe that I finally peeked but now that I’ve done it once, I’ll probably keep doing it. It was fun to look for the items that I was receiving on Pinterest to what they looked like on others.

      Paula

  2. Yay!! I’ve been looking forward to this post! How exciting you kept all five!! My favorites are those shorts and the peplum top. Oh, and that skirt! Ok, I agree with you – I love them all! What a nice surprise after a no-go March fix.

    1. I love the shorts and peplum top, too, Megan but I don’t think that I’ll be wearing either this week. Brrr!

      Paula

  3. What a great Fix. I received the same Mak cardigan, and love it more than I thought I would. I was afraid the detail wouldn’t go with many of my tops. Boy was I wrong! You look beautiful in all of your photos.

    1. Thanks for your kind compliment, Addie. I wasn’t sure about the cardigan when I took it out of the Stitch Fix box but as soon as i put it on I knew it was a winner.

      Paula

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.