August 2016 Stitch Fix Review (Fix #38)

 

It’s Stitch Fix time!  It seems like I was just sharing my July 2016 Fix with you and now it’s August and I’m sharing another fix, this time #38!  I did something new for this fix and shared an unboxing video, so if you caught that, you know what I received.  Now it’s time to see more of this month’s items and to find out what I kept and what went back to Stitch Fix.

I am a Stitch Fix affiliate and if you make a purchase, I earn a small commission. My love for Stitch Fix is genuine and all opinions are truthful and my own.

Gilli Melody Printed Flare Skirt

My awesome stylist Brittany H. spotted this just-in skirt and thought it would be perfect for me to wear to school.  She suggested wearing it with the Market and Spruce Bomser Textured Top (see below) or with other tops that I’ve kept from previous Fixes.

Here I’ve paired it with a 41 Hawthorne blouse.  I didn’t blog about that Fix, nor did I keep the style card, so I don’t know the exact name of this blouse, but I’ll have to say that this is a favorite of the Stitch Fix blouses that I’ve received.  I love how it wraps in the front and the color matches this skirt perfectly.

August 2016 Stitch Fix Review - Gilli Melody Printed Flair Skirt - virginiasweetpea.com

 

Here I paired it with a Lily blouse, also from a Fix about which I didn’t blog.

August 2016 Stitch Fix Review - Gilli Melody Printed Flair Skirt - virginiasweetpea.com

 

It was nearly 100 degrees when we took these pictures, so in our rush to get them taken, I forgot to try the skirt with the Market & Spruce Bomser Textured Top like Brittany suggested.  I kept the skirt but didn’t keep the blouse, so I’ll never know if they looked good together.

When I stop to think about it, the Market & Spruce Jenson Embroidery Top from my June 2016 Fix should work perfectly with this skirt.  Score!

June 2016 Stitch Fix Review - Market and Spruce Jenson Embroidery Detail Top

 

Market and Spruce Bomser Textured Top

While I like this top, the moment I pulled it out of the box I knew that it was not a keeper, mainly because it is so similar to the Jenson Embroidery top.  I do like it but don’t need two blouses that are the same color and so similar in style.

August 2016 Stitch Fix Review - Market & Spruce Bomser Textured Top - virginiasweetpea.com

 

Liverpool Kolten Denim Jacket

I mentioned in my unboxing video that I wasn’t sure if I liked the color of this jacket since I usually prefer a darker wash for denim, but now that I’ve tried it on, I’ve decided that I do indeed like the lighter wash.

August 2016 Stitch Fix Review - Liverpool Kolten Denim Jacket - virginiasweetpea.com

 

The second that I put this jacket on, I knew that it was a keeper.  It’s super soft and it has the perfect amount of stretch.  I like it so much that I plan to request a second jacket in white.

August 2016 Stitch Fix Review - Liverpool Kolten Denim Jacket - virginiasweetpea.com

 

Did you noticed my landscaping?  I don’t usually take Stitch Fix pictures in this section of our yard, but because of the heat, we picked it for the shade it offered.  In the summer of 2012, our property was decimated by a monster derecho.

2012 Derecho Damage in Lynchburg, VA

 

After repairing our house and lawn in 2012, in 2013 we landscaped our side yard since the 2012 storm destroyed the plantings that were there.

Southern Landscapes Designed Landscape

It’s amazing how much these plants have grown in the three years that they’ve been in place.

Now back to Stitch Fix!

 

Collective Concepts Viernes Lace Detail Blouse

I really liked this blouse and especially liked the pretty lace detail on the shoulders and across the back.  This top would look great with skirts, pants, or jeans.  The only thing that I didn’t like about it was that it required wearing a cami underneath since it is very sheer.

August 2016 Stitch Fix Review - Collective Concepts Viernes Lace Detail Blouse - virginiasweetpea.com

 

If I loved the other four items in this fix, this top would have been a keeper.  Without the buy five 25% discount, the $58 price tag for this top was too much.August 2016 Stitch Fix Review - Collective Concepts Viernes Lace Detail Blouse - virginiasweetpea.com

 

Lysse Izzie Straight Leg Pant

Talk about comfortable, these pants felt like yoga pants.  I could teach all day in these babies in comfort!August 2016 Stitch Fix Review - Lysse Izzie Striaght Leg Pant - virginiasweetpea.com

 

I debated and debated about keeping these but at $98, I just couldn’t do it.

August 2016 Stitch Fix Review - Lysse Izzie Straight Leg Pant - virginiasweetpea.com

What Did I Keep?

Gilli Melody Printed Flare Skirt ($54) – Keep

Market and Spruce Bomser Textured Top ($58) – Return

Liverpool Kolten Denim Jacket ($98) – Keep

Collective Concepts Viernes Lace Detail Blouse ($58) – Return

Lysse Izzie Straight Leg Pant ($98) – Return

 

 

 

Overall I was extremely pleased with this Fix.  It would be great if every Fix was a 5/5 (meaning you keep all five items), but in reality, who could afford that?  I now have a new skirt to wear when I go back to work on August 8 and a new jacket that I’ll enjoy wearing year-round.

 

If you’ve never tried Stitch Fix, do it!  It’s so much fun to receive clothes that you don’t have to go out and shop for.  That is, unless you like shopping, and I don’t.  I love trying the clothes on at home where I can pair them with what I already have, and the fact that what I don’t want is easy to return in the provided postage-paid envelope.

You can see all of my Fixes here.

 

 

3 Comments

  1. Yay!! I’ve been looking forward to this post after you did the video! I 100% agree with the pieces you kept. Definitely the best pieces for the value. Sometimes you just get sooo many shirts!

    1. I agree about the shirts, Megan. I feel like I have so many but no bottoms to go with them.

      I hope that you get a fix soon!

      Paula

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.