Stitch Fix Review – May 2019 – Fix #69 – My 50th Birthday Fix!

This month my Stitch Fix box is dedicated to my upcoming 50th birthday on May 26th .  It’s ironic that I was born in 1969 and this is my 69th Fix.  I asked my stylist to send fun items to share with you for this month’s BIG birthday!

Stitch Fix Review for May 2019 - Fix #69 for my 50th Birthday- See styles perfect to enjoy for spring and all through summer. #stitchfix #stitchfixreview #stitchfixstyle

I am a Stitch Fix affiliate and if you make a purchase, I make a small commission.   My love for Stitch Fix is genuine and all opinions are truthful and my own.

May 2019 Stitch Fix Review

If you are new to Stitch Fix, these details will help you to understand the service.  Feel free to email me with any questions you might have about Stitch Fix.  I can also send you a link to use that will give you $25 off your first box.

Stitch Fix Details

  • Stitch Fix is a personal styling service.  When you sign up for Stitch Fix, you fill out a detailed style profile that helps your stylist know your likes and dislikes.  Since I’ve received 69 Stitch Fix shipments, my stylist knows my likes and dislikes very well and I almost always like every item in my Fix, a good problem to have!
  • When a Fix arrives, you have three days to try the clothes on and to decide what to keep and what to send back.  Stitch Fix includes a postage paid envelope making returns super easy.
  • When you sign up for Stitch Fix, you can choose how often a box is delivered.  You can pick a monthly options or schedule a box when you’d like to receive one.I do not like shopping and love receiving clothing from Stitch Fix.  I get clothes that I like without having to do any work other than pinning things that I like to my fashion board on Pinterest.  My stylist, Brittany H., checks my Pinterest board for inspiration and also reads my note to her each month to see if I have any special requests.
  • You can find links to all of my Fixes here and also be sure to check out my Stitch Fix Review Board on Pinterest where I pin my favorite looks.

This Month’s Stitch Fix Items

I was really excited when I received an email that this month’s Fix had shipped.  Using the Stitch Fix app, you can see what is coming in your box and when I saw the preview pictures for this Fix, I couldn’t wait for the box to arrive so that I could try each item on.

Market & Spruce Jeanie Ruffle Detail Dress

I love Stitch Fix dresses and I had a feeling that I would like this one.  Not only do I like the cut of this dress, I also like its floral pattern.

Stitch Fix Review for May 2019 - Market & Spruce Jeanie Ruffle Detail Dress #stitchfix #stitchfixreview #stitchfixdress #stitchfixsummer #shermanskulina

I paired this dress with shoes from Walmart that are a knockoff of a popular Sam Edelman style.  You can’t beat Walmart’s $19.99 price with free shipping to the store! 

Stitch Fix Review for May 2019 - Market & Spruce Jeanie Ruffle Detail Dress #stitchfix #stitchfixreview #stitchfixdress #stitchfixsummer

I really liked the ruffle detail around the neckline of this dress and its tie waist.

Stitch Fix Review for May 2019 - Market & Spruce Jeanie Ruffle Detail Dress #stitchfix #stitchfixreview #stitchfixdress #stitchfixsummer

Last month I tried something fun and shared what was coming in my SF box in my Instastories and asked my friends on Instagram their opinion on each item.  People seemed to enjoy voting and I enjoyed seeing the results.  If you don’t already follow me on Instagram, I would love it if started.

I really liked this dress but in the end I decided that I didn’t like it enough to invest $68 in it.

Market & Spruce Meroni Mixed Media Halter Top

The style of this top is exactly what I like to wear in the summer.  I like sleeveless tops with lightweight fabric.  

 

Stitch Fix Review for May 2019 - Market & Spruce Mixed Media Halter Top #stitchfix #stitchfixreview #stitchfixsummer

I love this top’s double string neckline and it’s adorable lemon print.

Stitch Fix Review for May 2019 - Market & Spruce Mixed Media Halter Top #stitchfix #stitchfixreview #stitchfixsummer

It’s called a mixed media top because it’s made of two different fabrics.  I wasn’t crazy about the white back and would have preferred that the lemon print be on both the front and the back.  I paired this top with Sam Edelman jeans from my November Fix.

Stitch Fix Review for May 2019 - Market & Spruce Mixed Media Halter Top #stitchfix #stitchfixreview #stitchfixsummer

This top got the thumbs-up on Instagram.  I really liked it and it fit me perfectly, but I didn’t keep it because I didn’t want to spend $54 on it.

ASTR Tawnia Surplice Blouse

Red is my favorite color and a wrap dress is my favorite style, so I knew that I would like this wrap style blouse.

Stitch Fix Review for May 2019 - ASTR Tawnia Surplice Blouse #stitchfix #stitchfixreview #stitchfixsummer #shermanskulina

I paired this top with white jeans and my new favorite Walmart shoes.

Stitch Fix Review for May 2019 - ASTR Tawnia Surplice Blouse #stitchfix #stitchfixreview #stitchfixsummer #shermanskulina

All of the jewelry that I’m wearing in this post is from Rocksbox.  Rocksbox is a jewelry subscription service that sends three pieces of jewelry that you can wear for as long as you like each month.  When you send your three pieces back, or buy what you like, a new box is sent.  If you’d like a free month of Rocksbox, sign up with this code: PAULABFF54.  I rejoined Rocksbox a year ago in January and I love their service.  I’ve received the cutest jewelry and have purchased quite a few items.

Stitch Fix Review for May 2019 - ASTR Tawnia Surplice Blouse #stitchfix #stitchfixreview #stitchfixsummer #shermanskulina

I liked this top, but the elastic waist kept riding up which I found a bit annoying.  

Stitch Fix Review for May 2019 - ASTR Tawnia Surplice Blouse #stitchfix #stitchfixreview #stitchfixsummer

My friends on Instagram were almost split in their opinion of this top.  I did like it, but if I spend $68 on a blouse, it has to be 100% comfortable.

Goldray Lowrey Knit Jumpsuit

If I was thirty years younger and had the body of my 19 year old niece, I’d want to rock a jumpsuit every weekend.

Stitch Fix Review for May 2019 - Goldray Lowrey Knit Jumpsuit #stitchfix #stitchfixreview #stitchfixsummer

This knit jumpsuit was super comfortable, very stylish, and it got bonus points for having pockets.  I loved trying this on and if I had somewhere to wear it, I might have considered buying it.  

Stitch Fix Review for May 2019 - Goldray Lowrey Knit Jumpsuit #stitchfix #stitchfixreview #stitchfixsummer #shermanskulina

Here’s a peek at the back of the jumpsuit.  Sherman was a good helper this month and posed for several pictures.  At this point in the day he had already been on one boat ride and was hoping for a second.

Stitch Fix Review for May 2019 - Goldray Lowrey Knit Jumpsuit #stitchfix #stitchfixreview #stitchfixsummer #shermanskulina

My Instagram friends were also almost evenly split in their opinion of this jumpsuit.  It was super fun to try this on, but I didn’t keep it.

Warp + Weft Andie Distressed Frayed Hem Short

I have been wanting a pair of jean shorts from Stitch Fix for a long time and my stylist finally was able to snag a pair for me to try.   They have a higher rise, button fly, distressing, and a frayed hem.

Stitch Fix Review for May 2019 - Warp + Weft Andie Distressed Frayed Hem Short #stitchfix #stitchfixreview #stitchfixsummer #stitchfixshorts

After seeing the preview picture of these shorts, I was pretty sure that I wouldn’t like them but I was wrong.  I’m not used to shorts with a higher waist and wider legs and I was sure that they would not flatter me.  Boy was I surprised when I put them on and liked them.

Stitch Fix Review for May 2019 - Warp + Weft Andie Distressed Frayed Hem Short #stitchfix #stitchfixreview #stitchfixsummer #stitchfixshorts

These shorts have some stretch which adds to the comfort factor.   

The Kate Spade Honeybee necklace that I’m wearing is one of my favorite purchases from Rocksbox.   

Stitch Fix Review for May 2019 - Warp + Weft Andie Distressed Frayed Hem Short #stitchfix #stitchfixreview #stitchfixsummer #stitchfixshorts

I was afraid that since I thought of these as “mom jeans” style shorts that they would make my rear look big, but I don’t think that they do.

Stitch Fix Review for May 2019 - Warp + Weft Andie Distressed Frayed Hem Short #stitchfix #stitchfixreview #stitchfixsummer #stitchfixshorts

These shorts are definitely comfortable.  The wide leg opening took a bit for me to get used to.  Every time I bent over in these, I felt like I was exposing more than I intended to expose to the world.

Stitch Fix Review for May 2019 - Warp + Weft Andie Distressed Frayed Hem Short #stitchfix #stitchfixreview #stitchfixsummer #stitchfixshorts #shermanskulina

I have always loved jean shorts and even though I really want a pair, I don’t think that these are the pair that I want to purchase.

Stitch Fix Review for May 2019 - Warp + Weft Andie Distressed Frayed Hem Short #stitchfix #stitchfixreview #stitchfixsummer #stitchfixshorts #shermanskulina

I agree with my Instagram friends on these shorts and even though they were fun to try on, I don’t think that they are the shorts for me.

I ended up not keeping anything from this Fix but I was very tempted by several of the pieces that I received.  My budget is tight right now due to some upcoming trips in June, so I didn’t buy anything, even though I liked several of the pieces.

Try Stitch Fix!

If you’ve been thinking about trying Stitch Fix but haven’t, I encourage you to give it a try.  Don’t forget that Stitch Fix also offers services for both men and children and they offer maternity and also plus-sizes.

I love receiving my box each month and have so much fun trying on all of the styles sent to me.

Give a Stitch Fix Gift Card

Stitch Fix gift card is a gift that any man or woman would like to receive.  I know I’m thrilled when I receive one!  Consider a Stitch Fix gift card for someone that you know likes Stitch Fix or has been meaning to try it.

I love receiving a Stitch Fix gift card and hope that a few will be headed my way on May 26th when I turn 50!

21 Comments

  1. You look fabulous. No one would believe that you are 50. You have taken very good care of yourself. Hope you had a wonderful birthday.

    1. Thank you, Yarlette! I’m going to celebrate turning 50 all month. I don’t know if you are aware of it but I was diagnosed with lung cancer in 2017 and because of that I am beyond grateful to be here to celebrate turning 50.

      Paula

      1. Paula, I am so sorry to hear this. I was not aware of this. You will be in my prayers. I understand how greatfull you are to be here to see 50. I just lost my husband before Christmas. .He had no health problems and felt great. Then in June of last year I thought he may be having a stroke but when we saw his Dr. they did a scan of his head it turned out he had 4 brain tumors so they did a body scan and found lung cancer and adrenal cancer. We were shocked. . .Never take your health for granted. He was only given weeks to live but we had six month,s Honey never give up we were married 52 years. Know that I will be praying for you and your family. It makes you appreciate Every day and realize what is really important in life doesn’t it?

  2. Happy Birthday! I loved the jumpsuit on you…I think Sherman did too! 🙂 it’s getting warm here I’m pulling out the Frosty Paws recipe for my girls..thanks again!

    1. Thank you! Sherman is my constant companion and when I don’t use him in Stitch Fix pictures, people ask where he is.

      Paula

  3. That is too bad about that red top because it looks so good on you! I actually LOVE that romper on you…super cute. And why is it so stinkin’ hard to find a pair of denim shorts!!

    1. I think I’m going to resort to cutting off a pair of jeans to make my own denim shorts.

      Paula

  4. Hi Paula just wanted to wish you a Happy 50 Birthday 🎂 I think everything looked great on you liked the jump suit. You are always in my prayers I hope you have many more birthdays

    1. Thank you, Laura! It was fun to try everything on even if I didn’t keep any of it this month. Thank you for your continued prayers, I really appreciate it. I am thankful to make it to 50 and hope that I have many, many more years to be here.

      Paula

  5. It’s super fun to see the styles StitchFix sends! I always feel like they are “almost right.” I loved that lemon top on you — if only the back had the lemon print too! And that pantsuit was really cute!

    1. I would have purchased the lemon top if the back was also lemons. I really enjoy getting my Stitch Fix box each month. It’s so much fun to try everything on.

      Paula

    1. Thank you for the 50th birthday wishes. The years pass by so quickly.

      Wish that lemon top had the lemon pattern on the back. If it did, I would have purchased it for sure.

      Paula

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.